My First Foray into Sewing

While living in Los Angeles, looking for a “real” job, and working minimal hours to make a few cents, I had a lot of time on my hands. LA is one of the worst places to live if you have no money, because you KNOW there are so many amazing, awesome, fantastic things happening within minutes of your apartment, but you can’t afford to actually DO any of them.

Le sigh.

But I did have a Jo Ann very close by, and I spent a lot of time crocheting. I’ll probably document some of those projects at a later date, because this post is about sewing.

I’ve always, always, always wanted to learn to sew, but beyond learning a few basic hand stitches and once making a very simple cloak with a family friend, the mysterious art of sewing eluded me. I’ve had a fascination with costumes my whole life, from the beautiful dresses featured in Lord of the Rings, to the iconic Jedi robes of Star Wars lore. It’s been a secret dream of mine to someday make an elaborate, amazing Halloween costume, and be able to say that I made it. It probably stems from a subconscious desire to actually become the brave, loyal, courageous characters of my favorite books and movies. In any case, I promised myself that if I moved back home to Wisconsin, I would finally pull out my mom’s old Singer and teach myself to sew.

Well, I’m still a bit timid, and socially awkward, and indecisive. And I still have a slight obsession with cats.

But I kept my promise and am LEARNING HOW TO SEW!!

I bring you my first major sewing attempt. My first curved line, applique, complicated pinning, fabric selection, and following of a pattern were all encompassed in this one project. I present:

AN ADORABLE WOODLAND OWL PILLOW!

My cousin just had her first baby; an adorable little boy, and his room is “woodland animal” themed. When I saw this pinned on Pinterest, I knew it was exactly what I wanted my first major project to be. You can find the blog post with the pattern on the Make it and Love It blog HERE.

I’m still amazed with how well this turned out, and family and friends are even more amazed than I am! I’m so in love with this, that it’ll be a little hard to give it away! But I made it for baby Blake, and his new woodland forest themed home is waiting for him! Wanna see another angle?

BAM! I actually finished this project about a week ago, and I’m still riding the high of making something so awesome with a sewing machine, a plethora of sewing accessories, AND MY OWN BARE HANDS!

So. I figured I would share my excitement with the interwebs. And I’ve done that. Now please excuse me while I go squeeze this pillow and “squee” like a little girl.

8 Comments

Filed under Sewing

8 responses to “My First Foray into Sewing

  1. Anonymous

    Fantastic! I am so proud of you!! Lucky Blake—xo

  2. Auntie Kelly

    The PJs you made for Andres are awesome, He looks so adorable in them, The only problem, He wears then all the time, I think he needs another pair. LOL. It is nice to have someone with such talent in the family, I cant even sew a button back on

  3. Emily Coleman

    I can very much relate to this post. I have also been making frequent trips to JoAnn fabrics since I taught myself to cross stitch in my ample spare time. Not surprisingly, my first project was also for a new baby in the family. Wish you were out here so we could hang out, stitch and talk about cats!

    • That sounds so fun! lol. You should totally get into crochet; I love it! And there’s so many blogs and youtube videos and tutorials and stuff on the internet, it’s so easy to teach yourself. I really like embroidery too, which is a close relative to cross stitch. :) We can have Skype craft dates! hahaha

  4. Oh, it’s so cute! I’m a knitter and I’m also wanting to start sewing. I’ve been feeling a bit nervous about it, but your owl’s got me feeling inspired and hopeful. :)

    • Thanks so much! And you can definitely do it Once you can thread the machine without looking at the manual, and can sew a reasonably straight line, you’ll be good to go! It sounds weird, but you just can’t be afraid of the machine. With a good seam ripper, almost anything can be redone, lol.

Leave a Reply

